books · readathons

#TheReadingQuest

Usually I use this blog for writing related updates, but this time I’ll be blogging about a readathon.

Wow, this looks so fun I had to join! I am glad I found out about this. 🙂 I might post about it elsewhere too, but for now I have decided to blog about The Reading Quest.
My computer is getting old, and I can no longer play most MMORPGs, which I love. Always when I used to be glued to games though, I didn’t make time for reading and this year without the games, I’ve been reading a lot more than I ever have! So at least this will in a way satisfy my gamer self! Haha.

reading-quest-board1

The amazing art was created by CW of Read, Think, Ponder.

For this Quest I will be the Bard! These are my quests:

A Book that has a tv/movie adaptation: Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm by Kate Douglas Wiggin

51UtQbhRCHL._SY346_

Talkative, ten-year-old Rebecca goes to live with her spinster aunts, one harsh and demanding, the other soft and sentimental, with whom she spends seven difficult but rewarding years growing up.

A Fairy Tale Retelling: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

13206760
There’s so many I could read for this one! For now I am going with Scarlet.
Scarlet Benoit and Wolf, a street fighter who may have information about her missing grandmother, join forces with Cinder as they try to stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana in this story inspired by Little Red Riding Hood.
A Book Cover with Striking Typography: A Long, Long Time Ago and Essentially True by Brigid Pasulka

6383944

Not something I usually read but I’ve had this book on my shelf forever, and what makes me want to read it? That beautiful cover!!
Half a century after the marriage of her Polish grandparents is marred by World War II and a painful tragedy, Beata recreates their journey to Krakow, where she encounters a youth culture torn between the city’s past and future.
A Book Translated from Another Language: Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren

19302
It was a Swedish book! I never knew this until now! And the setting is Sweden!
Escapades of a lucky little girl who lives with a horse and a monkey–but without any parents–at the edge of a Swedish village.
A Banned Book: Through the Looking-Glass, and What Alice Found There by Lewis Carroll

9781435139756_p0_v6_s518x700
The second book in the series of Alice’s adventures. When Alice follows a busy white rabbit down a rabbit hole she enters a strange world of make believe.
Extras
Grind: A book with 500+ pages: I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith

icapturethecastleI Capture the Castle tells the story of seventeen-year-old Cassandra and her family, who live in not-so-genteel poverty in a ramshackle old English castle. Here she strives, over six turbulent months, to hone her writing skills. She fills three notebooks with sharply funny yet poignant entries. Her journals candidly chronicle the great changes that take place within the castle’s walls, and her own first descent into love. By the time she pens her final entry, she has “captured the castle”–and the heart of the reader–in one of literature’s most enchanting entertainments.
Respawn: Read a book you previously DNF: Goose Chase by Patrice Kindl

7707968
I do this so much with books! I start them but don’t finish or it takes me a long time to finally do so. I read around 20 pages of this book, now I will finish it.
Rather than marry a cruel king or a seemingly dim-witted prince, an enchanted goose girl endures imprisonment, capture by several ogresses, and other dangers, before learning exactly who she is.
Animal Companion: Book referencing an animal in the title: The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale

1332982
I’ve been meaning to read this forever!
On her way to marry a prince she’s never met, Princess Anidori is betrayed by her guards and her lady-in-waiting and must become a goose girl to survive until she can reveal her true identity and reclaim the crown that is rightfully hers.

Leave a Reply

